The idea of a Sports Hall of Fame began in 1986 when longtime Garland citizen, Gale Fields, had a dream to recognize outstanding athletes from the local community. As the supervisor of one of the Garland Parks & Recreation Department recreation centers, he recruited interested people to attend a planning meeting. After several months of planning and organizing, Garland Mayor Charles Matthews issued a mayoral proclamation, and the Garland ISD Board of Trustees passed a Board Resolution pledging support. Thus began the Garland Sports Hall of Fame.

Buster Leavell served as the founding chairman/president of the GSHF Board of Governors five years. He was succeeded by Steve Finigan who served for the next two years, followed by Chuck Cabaniss who took the role of president for next 17 years. After Chuck Cabaniss’ retirement in 2011, Dr. Gary Reeves was elected the President of the Board.

The Garland Sports Hall of Fame is a non-profit organization, formed to honor deserving individuals. All honorees have contributed to athletics in the Garland ISD and have helped to stimulate a continued interest in sports participation and related activities. Each year, the GSHF holds a banquet to recognize the new inductees, an honor team, two outstanding GISD high school athletes, and to present donations to selected youth charities. Past inductees include players from the National Football League and National Basketball Association. Some inductees have competed for the United States in the Olympic Games or the Pan-American Games. GSHF inductees have been chosen from local players, coaches or other individuals who have played an instrumental role in the success of sports in Garland, Rowlett and Sachse.

To date, more than 100 individuals have been inducted into the Garland Sports Hall of Fame. We appreciate your ongoing support in our efforts to honor past and present outstanding athletes who have contributed to a wealth of talent in Garland, Rowlett, and Sachse.