2011 Honor Team

The 1978 Garland High School Bi-District Championship Football Team

The 1978 Garland High School football team, coached by Joe Boring, is honored as the 2011 Garland Sports Hall of Fame Honor Team of the Year.

Owl fans had great expectations for the 78 season. Offensively, the 78 Owls had Herkie Walls as Quarterback, Herbert Young and Dwayne Love at halfback, and Marvin Walker at wide receiver. The Owl defense was just as strong and just as good as the 1977 team. Leading the defensive way were James Cantrell, Marvin Walker, Mark Smith, Kelly Staples, Frank Killingsworth, John Denson, and Brad Williams.

The 78 Owls finished the season undefeated at 10 to 0, and entered the play-offs with a Bi-District win at Texas Stadium, 20 to 7 over L-D Bell. With the Bi-District championship, the Owls moved into the first round of the play-offs. However, a return trip to Texas Stadium the night of December 2nd proved to be fatal for the Owls in their advancement in the playoffs. Although it was a close game, Carter defeated the Owls, 13 to 0, and the Owls season ended. But many honors were given to the 1978 Bi-District champs.

For winning district and for a record of 20 to 1 in two years at Garland High School, Joe Boring was named District 10, 4-A Coach of the Year. Congratulations to the 1978 Garland High School Football Team selected by the Garland Sports Hall of Fame as the 2011 Honor Team.