2009 Honor Teams

The 1988 Lakeview Centennial High School Football Team

The 1988 Lakeview Centennial Area Championship football team is honored as the 2009 Honor Team of the Year. The Patriots posted a record of 12 victories and a single loss to Marshall in the regional contest.

During the team's junior season it did very well, having a 6-4 record under new coach Tommy Watkins. In the summer of 1988 the Patriots started practicing three weeks before school opened.

The season began on a positive note, with Lakeview Centennial defeating Pearce High School, 14 to 7. After blow-out victories over Bryan Adams, Newman Smith, and North Garland, the Patriots had a tough game against Garland High School, but won the contest by a 10 to 3 score.

Tension was high in the North Mesquite game, but Lakeview Centennial beat the defending 9-AAAAA champions, 24 to 2. The Patriots then defeated South Garland, 21 to 10, and on Homecoming Day they concluded the regular season with a 42 to 14 win over Greenville.

In the bi-district game, Lakeview Centennial defeated Dallas Roosevelt, 24 to 7, and then downed Plano, 23 to 12, in the area tilt. The playoff season ended with a 24 to 1410s5 to Marshall High.

Ladies and gentlemen, the Garland Sports Hall of Fame Honor Team for 2009 is the 1988 Lakeview Centennial High School football team.